A “Betting On My Birthday” Limerick

I will be celebrating my 64th birthday today in fine style at the race track. I’ll be hanging out Where The Turf Meets The Surf on Pacific Classic Day and I’ll get to see California Chrome, who won the first two legs of the Triple Crown a few years ago…and a lot of California Girls all dolled up and wearing fancy hats. Life is good.

Today is Cosmic Tumbler day for me. I am playing numbers, 6-4 exactas in every race, every 5-10 exacta box I can (Mimi’s birthday was May 10th and Arleen’s birthday was Oct. 5th), betting every gray horse for Mimi and wearing a purple shirt, which was Mimi’s favorite color. I might even toss in a few name bets.

I didn’t even buy a racing form for today. I am going with dumb luck. I’ve got the dumb part covered, Now if the girls can pull a few heavenly strings and take care of the luck part, that would be the kind of thing that great stories, jokes and limericks are made of.

I can study and analyze,
Speculate and hypothesize,
But winners won’t abound
Unless Lady Luck comes around……
And that would be a birthday surprise!

Leave a Reply

