A “Picking Ponies” Limerick

DSC04374

I started going to the track with my grandfather when I was a little kid and two of my most prized possessions are winner circle photos with my Papa in 1957 and 1958. It would be a huge understatement to say that those were rare occasions – not me and him at the track, that was a regular occurrence; Papa picking a winner was not.

As I am out at Del Mar, which is the crème de la crème of horse tracks, enjoying great company and great weather and having a blast trying to do something incredibly difficult, winning money betting on horses, I have been thinking back to those wonderful times with Ben Katz at Randall Park and Thistledown…and it led to this.

My Papa tried his whole life to pursue it,
So at a very early age I knew it.
Picking winners is tough
And losing is rough….
If it was easy, everyone would do it!

Leave a Reply

