A Few Las Vegas Limericks – #4

As I said before, I am not a sports bettor except when I am in Las Vegas. This is why. I can’t take it if there is a reversal of fortune on a meaningless play or a bounce of ball. And that stuff happens all the time…AND it always happens to me. This trip was no exception. Except that I made an exception to my personal policy and made a large bet, actually the largest total sports bet I ever made. I bet my Clemson Tigers which is something I never do as there is a risk of a double heartbreaking loss. I had $100 on Clemson, $50 on Temple and a $100 2 team parlay Clemson/Temple. $265 risked with the vig and potential $410 payoff. Both teams I bet on are good teams playing very well and they were playing fair/bad teams playing bad. But the teams I bet on found a way to make negative plays – both C & T had interceptions at the worst possible times – that affected the outcome of the bets. That stuff can send the unstable gambler straight to the roof and only a tout with a sure thing can talk him down.

After licking my wounds and pissing away the push money on the Clemson bet in a slot machine, I thought about the error of my ways and it led to this……

A bad beat gambling can sure kill a buzz.
Then you dwell on “What If’s,” not “What Was.”
Losing scars you for life,
But how you lose twists the knife……
If the losing doesn’t kill you, the “how” does!

Leave a Reply

