A “Spring Weather” Limerick

Our weather has been more up and down than an elevator in a tall downtown Houston building. I went to watch my friends play soccer on Sunday. I was in shorts and a t-shirt when I headed to the game. It was a very nice mid-60’s but with gray skies that had rain written all over them. At half time of the game it started to rain. I walked over to my truck to get an umbrella. In the time that it took me to walk the width of four soccer fields, prox 250 yards, the temperature dropped 20 degrees and it hasn’t gone up much since then. We had an ice storm that wreaked havoc on the trees. My dog, who usually responds to “Do you want to go out?” with wild exuberance, just rolled over on her blankie.

But Houston and Texas has had severe drought conditions for a long time and every drop of rain helps. We can trade a little discomfort for some precipitation.

And it led to this:

It’s been cold and wet all week.
The sun hasn’t taken a peek.
But we need the rain
So you won’t hear me complain
When Spring has sprung a leak!

Leave a Reply

