A “Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It’s Off To Work I Go” Limerick

Alas, all good things must come to an end. And, I must say, being a burden to society came so naturally to me. I could have continued with it in perpetuity had those S.O.B.s in Congress not been so contentious and hostile towards the unemployed. And sadly, my wife is in agreement with them…as far as I am concerned. Oh, she has plenty of rochmones for the people who really want to find a job and need a job, but with me, she thinks I have a lot of chutzpah wanting to get paid to not work. It’s not that I don’t work. I fold the laundry, walk the dog, write limericks and I’ll do anything she wants me to do provided she writes it down as I am prone to acute short term memory loss when she is telling me what to do and/or where to go.

So I am back at it. I am helping out one of my old bosses getting his business off the ground. I can do what he needs to do and cover my cost. And he was agreeable to my desire to only work part time so I can continue to at least be a semi-burden to society and continue to receive legitimate government payments I am entitled to but have certain restrictions attached to them. And I like the guy. So there you have it.

I did interview for a real job where my real expertise could be a valuable asset to the company that brought me in for the interview. If I land that job, then I have to turn off the tap, lace up my steel toes and have at it 52.5 hours a week minimum. That job is one where the wife and I can seriously get after the retirement fund. I’ll know tomorrow on that one. I would like to get that job.

But until then, this one is just fine and it inspired this:

I knew this day would come to pass
When I would return to the working class.
I prefer life without strife,
So I defer to the wife….
And I’ve gotten off of my lazy ass!!!

Leave a Reply

