A “Blintz – Does Jewish Soul Food Get Any Better?” Limerick

The wife is going out of town this afternoon. And when the pretty kitty is away, Mr. Mouse is going to play. No, I am not going have the boys over to watch football and drink beer. If I am going to tread on the edge of trouble, I am going to make it worth my while.

My wife does not put too many restrictions on me. I have given up all my bad habits. And since she told me the most romantic thing that a career underachieving goofball could ever hear – “Kravitz, if you don’t screw this up, you’ll never have to worry about money again” – I have taken all of the hazards out of play. But she has taken away playing in the kitchen from me. She says I do not clean up well enough to be granted kitchen privileges which has been a bitter pill to swallow. I love cooking and baking. But refer to back to “if you do not screw this up….” And she is a great cook herself so it is not as if I am going to go hungry.

But the fun of making something you love to eat is to tempting to resist. Can you say – BLINTZES? Oh yeah, a nice big batch of my new signature filling – a traditional sweet cheese filling loaded with semi-sweet and white chocolate – this would be something I would have used to close with back in my single days.

And, of course, this is a very low mess operation and I begged for and received permission. I may be dumb but I ain’t stupid.

It doesn’t take a whole lot to convince
This old Jewish American Prince,
When his Yiddish taste buds need thrilling,
It’s crepes and cheese filling…
You can never go wrong with a blintz!

One thought on “A “Blintz – Does Jewish Soul Food Get Any Better?” Limerick

Leave a Reply

