A ” ‘Professional’ Bride” Limerick

Back in the day when I worked in collections, we had a unique situation where we were trying to collect for a wedding magazine. The advertiser was a “professional woman” and I don’t mean lawyer or accountant. I don’t know what goods or services she was advertising, I just know that the salesman I shared an office with cracked up when he was getting the background on the debt.

As I have mentioned previously, these are the types of things that set my gears in motion, especially when my partner asked me to write a limerick for the client. Hey, client services…how could I say “no”?

And it led to this:

She needed to make a pre-nuptial confession
About her career in the world’s oldest profession.
It was honest work he’d embrace.
Relieved, she sat on his face.
She so wanted to make a good impression.

Leave a Reply

