An “The Apple Doesn’t Fall From The Tree” Limerick

Cleveland, Columbus, Radford 163Tomorrow is Father’s Day. I know that it may not be clearly apparent, but the thing that I love doing the most and the thing I am best at is being a parent. I have one child. A wonderful daughter. She is a very good person. She is smart and kind. She is a fine young Jewish woman who performs mitzvot, acts of kindness for those less fortunate. She is a good friend to those lucky enough to have her for a friend.

The only thing that I worry about with her is that she is very much like me. We both have job wanderlust. I have been one to think that the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence. It has never been. Usually the fence is electrified and I get shocked hopping over it. Subsequently, I am an admitted under achiever. I am so afraid that she is going to be like me. Her mom is not like that. Her mom has been with her company nearly thirty years.

And sadly, my baby has something else that she got from me that I would love for her not to have – my face. We have one face. Not that mine is so bad. It works for a 61 year old man. But she is a thirty one year old woman. The irony is that her mother is drop dead gorgeous – a real head turner who looks much younger than her age which is the same as mine.

As anyone can plainly see
My apple fell close to the tree
If I had my druthers
Her looks would be her mother’s
But my baby’s the spitting image of me!

Leave a Reply

