The “Creative Process” and a Perfect Example

Most of my limericks are inspired by a challenge. Someone tosses me a phrase or a word and challenges me to come up with a limerick. Sometimes it is not a direct request; I hear something that sounds like a punch line to a limerick and gears start grinding.

Here’s an example. My wife, Arleen (yes, for those of you that know me from my youth, as hard as it is to believe, I am married to a woman named Arleen – different spelling!) likes to utz me and call me “precious”. Here is what came from that:

Making me crazy is his obsession
And he’s driving me to manic depression
But come to think of it,
My trophy idiot
Is still my most precious possession!

Leave a Reply

